

Kent County Department of Aeronautics

AERONAUTICS BOARD JOSEPH TOMASELLI , Chairman RICHARD A. VANDER MOLEN , Vice Chairman TERRI LYNN LAND ROGER MORGAN THEODORE J. VONK FLOYD WILSON, JR. AERONAUTICS STAFF JAMES A. KOSLOSKY, A.A.E. PHILIP E. JOHNSON, A.A.E. ROBERT W. BENSTEIN, A.A.E. BRIAN PICARDAT, A.A.E. THOMAS R. ECKLUND, P.E.

Executive Director Deputy Executive Director Public Safety & Ops Director Finance & Admin. Director Facilities Director

GERALD R. FORD INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Jim Koslosky, Executive Director (616) 233-6049 / jkoslosky@grr.org

KENT COUNTY APPOINTS NEW MEMBERS TO AERONAUTICS BOARD

GRAND RAPIDS, MICH. (March 3, 2011) – The Gerald R. Ford International Airport recently announced new leadership of the Kent County Aeronautics Board. The six-member panel is appointed by the Kent County Commission and governs policy at the airport. It comprises three Kent County commissioners and three citizen members, each serving staggered three year terms.

Amway Hotel Corp. President Joe Tomaselli was elected chair of the board. His appointment marks the first time in 15 years the board will have a new chairperson. Tomaselli, appointed as a citizen member, replaces former chairman John Van Laar, who served 35 years on the panel and 15 as chair. Van Laar retired from the board last December.

"Airports and air service are critical factors in the growth and development of cities and regions. Throughout the past decade, our airport has made great strides in attracting and retaining air service, capital improvements and customer experience," said Tomaselli. "Our aim is to build on this momentum in the coming years and to continue to provide our passengers with excellent service."

Kent County Commissioner Dick Vander Molen was appointed vice chair of the panel and chair of the Aeronautical, Facilities & Marketing Committee. The board also welcomed new members former Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land and Kent County Commissioner Roger Morgan.

Metro Health Executive Vice President of Human Resources Floyd Wilson, Jr. and Kent County Commissioner Theodore Vonk are currently serving their first and second terms, respectively. Vonk also chairs the Finance, Administration & Public Relations Committee.

#