MEETING MINUTES GERALD R. FORD INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Gerald R. Ford International Airport, 5500 44th Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49512, Golden Eagle Room Wednesday, January 4, 2023

A quorum being present, and in accordance with notice being duly given, President and CEO, Tory Richardson called the meeting of the full Authority Board to order on January 4, 2023, at 8:00 a.m.

Mr. Richardson welcomed everybody and stated the purpose of the meeting is for the election of officers, appointments to Board Committees, the appointment of the Recording Secretary, appointments to the Zoning Board of Appeals, and to set the schedule for the Board and Board Committee meetings for the next two years. He asked for attendance by roll call:

Board Present: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Emily Brieve, Doug Small, Pete Beukema, Dan Burrill,

Birgit Klohs (Only absent for roll call. Mrs. Klohs joined the meeting at 8:02 a.m.) - 7

Staff Present: Tory Richardson - President and CEO

Alex Peric - Vice President and COO

Matt Zeilstra – Controller

Lisa Carr – Public Safety & Operations Director Heather Day – Human Resources Director Margie Witbeck - Executive Assistant

Others Present: Mary Kay Shaver - Airport Attorney

1-1 Call to Order and Approval of the Agenda

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Richardson. He said that the agenda item, Appointment of Recording Secretary, has been added to the agenda as agenda number 1-7.

Motion by Mr. Verhulst, supported by Mr. Small, of the approval of the revised agenda. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-2 Election of Officers

Mr. Richardson opened nominations for Board Chair. Mrs. Brieve nominated Mr. Koorndyk. With no other nominations, Mr. Richardson closed the nominations and called for the vote. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

Mr. Richardson turned the meeting over to Chair Koorndyk. Mr. Koorndyk opened nominations for Vice Chair. Mrs. Brieve nominated Mr. Small. With no other nominations, Chair Koorndyk closed the nominations and called for the vote. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

Chair Koorndyk opened nominations for Secretary. Mrs. Brieve nominated Mrs. Klohs. With no other nominations, Chair Koorndyk closed the nominations and called for the vote. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-3 Public Comment

No public comment

1-4 Adopt 2023 and 2024 Board and Committee Meeting Schedules

Mr. Beukema motioned to adopt the 2023 and 2024 Board and Committee schedules. Motion supported by Mr. Verhulst. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-5 Standing Committee Appointments

Chair Koorndyk stated that as Board Chair, he makes the following appointments to the standing committees:

Operations and Marketing Committee - Doug Small (Chair), Mike Verhulst, Dan Burrill

Finance and Legislative Committee - Birgit Klohs (Chair), Peter Beukema, Emily Brieve

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-6 Other Committee Appointments

Chair Koorndyk stated that as Board Chair, he makes the following appointments to the Human Resources Committee:

Pete Beukema (Chair), Doug Small, Dan Koorndyk

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-7 Appointment of Recording Secretary

Chair Koorndyk stated that as Board Chair, he would like to appoint the position of Executive Assistant, and in their absence, the position of Director of Human Resources or Business Administration Manager, to serve as the Board's Recording Secretary.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-8 Zoning Board of Appeals Appointment

Chair Koorndyk stated the GFIAA Board appoints members to the Zoning Board of Appeals. Many years ago, the term expirations of ZBA members got out of sequence of the staggered terms required by Article 6 of the Gerald R. Ford International Airport Zoning ordinance. As such, this board needs to re-establish the staggered terms by making appointments for one-, two-, and three-year terms for the members of the GFIAA Board that serve on the ZBA. After these initial terms, the terms will be for three-year terms at staggered expirations. Therefore, the following positions with the associated term are proposed:

Finance and Legislative Committee Chair – Term ending 2023 Operations & Marketing Committee Chair – Term ending 2024 Board Chair – Term ending 2025

Motion by Mr. Verhulst, supported by Mrs. Brieve, to appoint the Finance and Legislative Committee Chair to a one-year term, the Operations and Marketing Committee Chair to a two-year term, and the Board Chair to a three-year term on the ZBA. Motion carried.

Chair Koorndyk said that in accordance with Article 2 of the Standing Rules of the Gerald R. Ford International Airport Zoning Board of Appeals, the GFIAA Board must appoint the ZBA Chair and Vice Chair. These positions have traditionally been held by the GFIAA Board Chair and the GFIAA Marketing and Operations Committee Chair.

Motion by Mrs. Klohs, supported by Mr. Small, the motion to appoint the GFIAA Board Chair and the GFIAA Marketing and Operations Committee Chair to serve as the ZBA Chair and Vice Chair, respectively. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-9 Review and Approval of the December 21, 2022, Meeting Minutes

Motion by Mrs. Brieve, supported by Mr. Small, the approval of the December 21, 2022, Meeting Minutes. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

1-10 Other Business

Chair Koorndyk congratulated Commissioner Burrill on his appointment to the Board and Mr. Small on his re-appointment to the Authority Board.

Board members thanked Margie Witbeck for her work over the past four years as the Executive Assistant and Board Liaison and wished her well on her new opportunity.

1-11 Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 8:18 a.m.

APPROVAL:

Birgit Klohs, Board Secretary

maw