MEETING MINUTES GERALD R. FORD INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY BOARD Wednesday, April 29, 2020

A quorum being present and in accordance with notice being duly given, Chair Koorndyk called the meeting of the Authority Board to order on April 29, 2020 at 8:30 a.m.

Board Members Present: Dan Koorndyk, 1 Floyd Wilson, Jr. 1

Board Members Present via Audio Conferencing:

Ted Vonk,² Roger Morgan,² Birgit Klohs,¹ Doug Small,¹ Peter

Beukema²

Staff Present: Tory Richardson, President and CEO

Alex Peric, Vice President and COO Brian Picardat – Vice President and CFO

Lisa Carr – Public Safety & Operations Director

Tim Haizlip - Director of Maintenance

Allan Fawcett – Interim Human Resource Director Casey Ries – Engineering and Planning Director

Matt Zeilstra – Controller

Stephen Clark - Business Development Manager

Margie Witbeck - Executive Assistant

Pat Howe – IT Support

Also Present via Audio Conferencing:

Mary Kay Shaver – Airport Attorney

Luis Avila – Varnum Partner

Tara Hernandez – Marketing and Communications Director

Dan Villalobos - Ground Transportation Supervisor

Moe Khattak – Business Analyst Clint Nemeth – Engineering Manager

Tom Cizauskas – Purchasing Manager Bruce Applebach – Operations Manager

KJ Nalback – Building Maintenance Supervisor

Joe Dancz - Fire Sheriff

Ann Biafore – Administrative Specialist

Gary Gagne - Rescue Firefighter

Judy Junewick – Accounting Specialist Kelly Felker – Communications Specialist

Laura Feigel – Executive Assistant

Lisa Rauch – Human Resources Administrator

Ron Arnon – Operations Officer Roy Hawkins – Planning Engineer

Ryan Schaner – Engineering Tech

Brian Camp – Host

Kelly Jost – C&S Companies

¹ Present prior to commencement of meeting.

² Joined meeting prior to Agenda Item 4-6, which was confirmed by a roll call check prior to such Item.

Matthew Shaw – Citizen Nick Patterson – RS&H Braden Meyers - Police

Mr. Koorndyk welcomed Pete Beukema to the GFIAA Board. He also appointed Pete to the Finance and Legislative Committee meeting as well as the Board liaison to the staff's ACI-NA Annual Conference Planning Committee.

4-1 Approval of the Agenda

Motion by Mr. Wilson, supported by Mr. Small, to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Yeas: Mr. Koorndyk, Mr. Wilson, Mrs. Klohs, Mr. Small – 4

Nays: 0

4-2 Public Comment

No public comment.

4-3 Consent Agenda

- a) Approval of Authority Board Minutes February 26, 2020
 - Revised minutes were distributed prior to meeting

OPERATIONS AND MARKETING COMMITTEE

- b) Resolution 20-14: Gerald R. Ford Statue Base
- c) Resolution 20-15: Parking Garage Maintenance
- d) Reports
 - Project/Construction Report
 - Gateway Transformation Phase 2 Dashboard
 - Public Safety and Operations Report
 - Aviation Activity Report

Motion by Mr. Wilson, supported by Mr. Small, that Consent Agenda items a - d be approved.

Motion carried.

Yeas: Mr. Koorndyk, Mr. Wilson, Mrs. Klohs, Mr. Small – 4

Nays: 0

4-4 **Resolution 20-18:** Approval of Resolution Confirming and Delegating Authority to President/Chief Executive Officer to Address COVID-19 Issues

Motion by Mr. Wilson, supported by Mrs. Klohs, the approval of the resolution confirming and delegating authority to President/Chief Executive Officer to Address COVID-19 Issues.

Motion carried.

Yeas: Mr. Koorndyk, Mr. Wilson, Mrs. Klohs, Mr. Small – 4

Nays: 0

4-5 **President and CEO Report/COVID-19 Update**

Mr. Richardson presented the President and CEO report to the Board.

Roll call taken to confirm all seven Board Members were present, which they were.

4-6 Closed session under Section 8(h) of the Open Meetings Act

Motion by Mr. Wilson, supported by Mrs. Klohs to recess to a closed session pursuant to Section 8(h) of the Open Meetings Act to consider material exempt from discussion or disclosure by state or federal statute, specifically a written legal opinion by legal counsel regarding COVID-19.

Vote to recess to a closed session by roll call:

Yeas: Mr. Koorndyk, Mr. Wilson, Mr. Vonk, Mrs. Klohs, Mr. Morgan, Mr.

Small. Mr. Beukema – 7

Nays: 0

Motion carried.

Adjourned to closed session at 9:10 a.m.

Returned to open session at 9:44 a.m. Roll call taken to confirm all seven Board Members were present, which they were.

4-7 **Resolution 20-19:** COVID-19 Response: Defined Benefit Pension Incentive

Motion by Mr. Wilson, supported by Mrs. Klohs, the approval of the resolution approving Defined Benefit Pension Incentive.

Motion carried.

Yeas: Mr. Koorndyk, Mr. Wilson, Mr. Vonk, Mrs. Klohs, Mr. Morgan, Mr.

Small, Mr. Beukema – 7

Nays: 0

4-8 Other Business

Mr. Koorndyk welcomed new board member, Peter Beukema, again. Mr. Richardson and Mr. Picardat thanked the staff for their teamwork and

cohesiveness over the past several weeks.

4-9 **Adjournment**

maw

		ourned		

APPROVAL:	
	Ted Vonk, Recording Secretary to the Board