#### **MEETING MINUTES**

# GERALD R. FORD INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY BOARD

Gerald R. Ford International Airport, International Room 5500 44th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49512 Wednesday, January 31, 2024

A quorum being present, and in accordance with notice being duly given, Mr. Richardson served as the temporary Chair and called the meeting of the Authority Board to order on January 31, 2024, at 8:30 a.m.

Mr. Richardson welcomed everyone and asked for Board Member attendance by roll call:

Board Present: Birgit Klohs, Pete Beukema, Doug Small, Dan Burrill, Mike Verhulst, Emily Brieve, Dan

Koorndyk – 7

Staff Present: Tory Richardson - President and CEO

Alex Peric - Vice President and COO Maria Kim - Chief Financial Officer

Lisa Carr - Public Safety & Operations Officer Heather Day – Human Resources Director

Halev Mever – Executive Assistant

Tom Cizauskas – Business Administration Manager

Kevin Delaney - Director of Maintenance and Asset Management

Matt Zeilstra - Controller

Ashley Thorsen - Operations Manager

Dan Heyenburk - Facilities Maintenance Technician Joseph Leiter – Facilities Maintenance Technician

Clint Nemeth – Engineering Manager

Others Present: Mary Kay Shaver (Varnum), Josh Karp (CS Erickson), Walter Bujak (KCC), John Oliver,

Tom Moerdyk, Ben Orange (Allegient),

Mr. Richardson congratulated members Beukema, Brieve, and Verhulst for their reappointments to the GFIAA Board. Then there was a moment of silence in recognition of the passing of Mr. Steve Warren, former Executive Director of the Kent County Road Commission.

#### 1-1 Approval of the Agenda

Motion by Mrs. Klohs, supported by Mrs. Brieve for the approval of the agenda.

#### **Election of Officers**

Mr. Richardson opened nominations for Board Chair. Mr. Small nominated Mr. Koorndyk. With no other nominations, Mr. Richardson closed the nominations and called for the vote. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

Mr. Richardson turned the meeting over to Chair Koorndyk. Mr. Koorndyk opened nominations for Vice Chair. Mrs. Brieve nominated Mr. Small. With no other nominations, Chair Koorndyk closed the nominations and called for the vote. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

Chair Koorndyk opened nominations for Secretary. Mrs. Brieve nominated Mrs. Klohs. With no other nominations. Chair Koorndyk closed the nominations and called for the vote. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

Mr. Beukema moved to adopt the 2024 and 2025 Board and Committee schedules. Motion supported by Mr. Verhulst. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

#### 1-4 Standing Committee Appointments

Chair Koorndyk stated that as Board Chair, he makes the following appointments to the standing committees:

Operations and Marketing Committee - Doug Small (Chair), Mike Verhulst, Emily Brieve

Finance and Legislative Committee - Birgit Klohs (Chair), Peter Beukema, Dan Burrill

#### 1-5 Other Committee Appointments

Chair Koorndyk stated that as Board Chair, he makes the following appointments to the Human Resources Committee:

Pete Beukema (Chair), Doug Small, Dan Koorndyk

#### 1-6 Appointment of Recording Secretary

Chair Koorndyk stated that as Board Chair, he would like to appoint the position of Executive Assistant, and in their absence, the position of Director of Human Resources or Business Administration Manager, to serve as the Board's Recording Secretary

## 1-7 Zoning Board of Appeals Appointments

The GFIAA Board appoints members to the Zoning Board of Appeals. There are two appointments needed by this board today. One appointment is to reappoint our Finance and Legislative Committee Chair position to the ZBA as that appointment expired 12/31/2023. The other appointment is the 3-year Zoning Board of Appeals term that the Cascade Planning Director has held since 2009, but expired at the end of 2023. Jade Smith, the new Cascade Township Manager, has agreed to serve in this role.

Therefore, the following positions with associated terms are proposed:

- Finance and Legislative Committee Chair Term ending 2026
- Jade Smith Term ending 2026

Motion by Mr. Verhulst, supported by Mrs. Brieve, to appoint the Finance and Legislative Committee Chair and Jade Smith, each to a three-year term on, on the ZBA. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

Chair Koorndyk said that in accordance with Article 2 of the Standing Rules of the Gerald R. Ford International Airport Zoning Board of Appeals, the GFIAA Board must appoint the ZBA Chair and Vice Chair. These positions have traditionally been held by the GFIAA Board Chair and the GFIAA Marketing and Operations Committee Chair.

Motion by Mr. Burril supported by Mr. Beukema, the motion to appoint the GFIAA Board Chair and the GFIAA Marketing and Operations Committee Chair to serve as the ZBA Chair and Vice Chair, respectively. Motion carried.

Yeas: Dan Koorndyk, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Pete Beukema - 7

#### 1-8 Public Comment

There was no public comment.

### 1-9 Special Award

Guest Experience leaders Lisa Carr and Ben Orange presented GFIAA employees, Dan Heydenburk and Joe Leiter from GFIAA Facilities, with awards for winning the employee recognition for the third quarter. They went above and beyond to assist a guest needing help with their wheelchair.

#### 1-10 Consent Agenda

- a) Approval of Authority Board Minutes November 15, 2023
- b) Reports
  - Project/Construction Report
  - Public Safety and Operations Report
  - Maintenance and Asset Management Report
  - Media Report

Motion by Mr. Small, supported by Mrs. Klohs the approval of Consent Agenda items  ${\bf a}-{\bf b}$ . Chair Koorndyk asked for votes by roll call.

Yeas: Pete Beukema, Emily Brieve, Dan Burrill, Mike Verhulst, Birgit Klohs, Doug Small, Dan Koorndyk – 7

Nays: 0

**Motion Carried** 

## 1-11 President and CEO Report

Mr. Richardson reviewed the CEO report.

#### 1-12 Other Business

No other business.

#### 1-13 Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:03 a.m.

APPROVAL:

Birgit Klohs, Secretary to the Board

hm